Home » Exhibitions & Competitions » ‘If I only had time’ Dorothy Collard Challenge 2017

‘If I only had time’ Dorothy Collard Challenge 2017

The late Dorothy Collard, a former member of Auckland Quilt Guild, left a bequest from her estate to the Guild to sponsor an annual challenge for five years.   After nine years, the Guild took over the sponsorship of this challenge.  Each year Guild members wait for the new Challenge Theme.  In 2017  the Theme was ‘If I only had time”.  I had this small set of fabric samples and one of them had power poles, so I thought of telephone lines and then keeping in touch with friends and loved one via the telephone.  I used tuis as representing me and my friends and a fun tree which I stretched out into two different sizes and used softer fabric to make them recede into the background.

Unfortunately it did not receive any prizes however I thoroughly enjoyed making the small quilt and will proudly hang it on my wall when it is returned to me.  You will be able to see it at the Festival of Quilts in November 2017 at the Auckland Netball Centre in St Johns, Auckland.
If you double click on the image it will open in a new screen and you will be able to see the detail.

I would phone my friends more…

One thought on “‘If I only had time’ Dorothy Collard Challenge 2017

  1. It is a lovely quilt Mary, time goes so quickly, and really like your representation.

Leave a comment