Home » Mary Metcalf » Quilt for the fun of it

Quilt for the fun of it

I purchased a fat quarter bundle of French General’s Pom pom de Paris.  I was right into pale pinks and soft greens.  Funnily enough these colours were very popular when I started teaching patchwork 30 years ago.  I think nearly everyone in the class had some sort of variation of pink and green for their first sampler quilt.
I found an online pattern for these large blocks as I cut sort of fussy cut the toile images to fit the blocks.  This project was on the go for well over a year or so as I would cut out a block and then put it aside.  When I felt the need to ‘sew something’ but just didn’t have the time to start a new project I would pull out this quilt and sew a block.  Each block was the same design but with a different colourway to keep my interest up.  Eventually all nine blocks were completed and once again I called on the skills of my friend, Susan Trendall, to quilt it.  I gave it to my daughter-in-law Claire for Christmas 2014.

Leave a Reply

